What’s Next?

Right now, I have a lot of projects on my plate, and I’m excited about all of them!

Every so often, I get an idea for a story that I just can’t wait to start writing. Sometimes, I’m able to sit down and type out an outline or extensive notes and that will be enough to get it out of my head so I can remain focused on my current project. Other times, there’s just no way I’ll be able to focus on anything else until that first draft is written.

This happened to me at the end of last year when I was trying to finish the final edits on Balfor’s Salvation. An entirely new idea struck me and I had to put off writing Jessabelle’s Beast to work on it. I’m back to working on Jessabelle’s Beast now and am at almost 30,000 words, but I would have already been finished with it if it wasn’t for this new project.

The thing is, I know that I need to maintain my focus. I have so many different interests and ideas and I’m inspired by so many things, that it’s often difficult to stay focused long enough to work on one project. For a reader following a series, that’s frustrating when an author is all over the place with their books, so I try to follow through on my promises when I start a series. Yet, I can’t ignore these other ideas or I swear, I’ll go crazy. 😉 (Not really, but I won’t get any sleep at night.)

Usually, just getting the idea out in a first (very rough) draft is enough. I save it on a file and occasionally go back and reread it for my own pleasure. I’ll probably never publish many of the manuscripts I’ve written. Occasionally though, I think it would be a good story to share. Maybe not exactly as it was originally written, but certainly in some form.

That’s when I pull out the file and dust it off (in a virtual sense 😉 ) Then I start rewrites. Hopefully, this is in between writing and editing stages. (I like to let stories sit for a month or so before final edits so I can view them with fresh eyes).

Right now, I’m hard at work on Jessabelle’s Beast and I’m hoping I will be able to publish it by June or July, but I’m also working on my serial for this blog which is a chapter every two weeks. It’s another project I’m really excited about. It’s been a while since I revisited Altraya and it was fun to break out the old hand-drawn map and start outlining a story picking up on a group of characters I’ve always had plans to write about.

In addition to that, I have a third project that I work on every so often when I can find the time and this is one of those off-the-wall kind of stories that fits into a niche so small that it will probably never be published as-is. Yet the world-building has me enthusiastic enough that I think I can swing a publishable story out of it someday. Until then, it’s the kind of story I want to read, but that no one else will write because it’s not that marketable.

So what’s next for me? Jessabelle’s Beast will be the next book I publish. I’m very happy with how that’s coming along and I’m completely in love with Gorzo ;). He’s such an amazing hero, both wise and sexy. Jessabelle has her own problems and a dilemma that is tearing her apart. I can’t help but sympathize with her.

Of course, Morbidon’s Bride will continue, since I can’t leave Febe in the middle of her story. Besides, grumpy Morbidon needs a reason to be happy, even if he is the personification of death. Will he get it, though? Honestly, I don’t know since my plans always veer wildly away from initial outlines, but I will say that I’m a sucker for happy endings… so make of that what you will. 😉

After those two stories, I may take a break from the Shadows of Sanctuary series to work on one of several manuscripts that I think might be a good story to publish. I don’t think these will be series books, at least not at first. So far, they are all romances, with lots of fantasy and science fiction thrown in. I have aliens and dragons and unicorns, oh my! Oh, and I have post-apocalyptic and steam-punk surreal settings floating around in there too, so be prepared.

I will keep my blog updated with the projects I’m working on, so you’ll know almost as soon as I do what type of story is coming after Jessabelle’s Beast. Probably a sexy demon rogue, but we’ll have to see.

Let me know what you’d like to see next. I can’t say I have that story, but it might convince me to write one. I have hundreds of ideas sitting in files waiting to be turned into books.

One thought on “What’s Next?

Leave a Reply

