Happy New Year’s Day 2017

cropped-clouds

It’s a cloudy Day 1 in the land of sun

It’s a brand new year, and as usual, I’m just bursting with enthusiasm for my New Year’s Resolutions! (We won’t mention where all that enthusiasm goes by mid-March. I blame gnomes).

cubs-gnome

Look at him. So smug just because his team won the World Series… for the first time in 108 years!

One of the first things I want to tackle in this new year (2017 woohoo!) is to become a regular blogger. This has been difficult for me for many reasons. I won’t list them all here, but suffice it to say, I have no problem at all when it comes to writing fiction. I live for that. Writing blogs is another story all together.

mannequinnopencil

Why is this so HARD!

Which got me thinking. Why couldn’t at least some of my blogging involve another story? This one could be released chapter by chapter for free reading on my blog.

I’ve never done a serial before, but I do believe it could be challenging, and that’s what I need right now: a new, fresh challenge to push me past my comfort zone.

laundry-kitty

WARNING: Do Not Remove from Comfort Zone!

Not only do I think this will make me a better writer, it will also push me to write, even when I’d rather be lazy and play video games. 😉 And who knows? If the story manages to be good enough when it’s finished, I’ll pull it down, have it edited, and publish it for those who don’t follow my blog. It’s bound to be rough and raw on my blog, though I will do my best editing on each chapter before putting it up.

Still, if you’re interested in reading a never-before published story, for free, on my blog, and if you can handle the wait (since I will be releasing chapters twice a month on Fridays) you might want to check out the story. And if you have any critiques or compliments on how it’s developing feel free to put them in the comments below.

I’ve never tried this technique before, so it should be interesting to see how it goes. Please leave me comments, questions, suggestions, warnings, critiques of this idea in the comments below this blog. I will read all comments and take the most thoughtful ones into consideration.

mannequinidea

In addition to the free serial fantasy or science fiction romance (I’m thinking the first will involve dragons), I have a couple of other ideas to keep me blogging regularly. I’m sure these won’t all be relevant to those who are interested in my writing, so I’ll give a breakdown of what days those blogs will be on:

Mondays: Here I will write my most personal blogs (the ones I find the most difficult to write, so Monday seemed like the perfect day of suckiness to struggle with these blogs)

brinamindmeld

These blogs will focus on my own perception of the world around me as well of the writing medium. On these blogs, I will highlight those things I encounter in the books I read, as well as the movies I watch, and games I play that move me, one way or another. These blogs would be useful for anyone who wants to gain some insight into my character development as well as plot development. These are the types of blogs I’ve been trying to do thus far.

Thursdays: If you’re just looking for book related stuff, you may want to ignore these blogs, but I have a lot of hobbies and some of them work their way into my stories in unique ways. Mostly, this is just for fun and to show off the crafts I’m doing, or chat about the latest video game I’m playing.

20161210_170220_resized

Like this Skyrim birthday party I planned. Best of both worlds. 🙂

Saturdays: These will be brief blogs about movies I’ve found that I LOVE! (or just think are worth checking out). You probably won’t find many blockbusters mentioned here because they need no help being found, but trying to find a good B-movie Sci-fi or Horror has been a time-consuming process.

kitty-eyes-closed-cropped

Wake me when you’ve found something to watch.

I figured my blog could be used as force for good (entertainment) if I occasionally let people know when I came across an awesome indie film, or even a bigger budget film with lots of plot and adventure. I won’t be in any way compensated for these blogs. I have no idea who the producers are, and couldn’t care less. If I think the story is good enough to mention, that’s all it’s going to take for me. I also won’t be rating these movies using any kind of scale. If they’re mentioned here, then I liked them and wanted to share them.

Now Saturdays may not sound like anything you, as readers, might be interested in, but a lot of my inspiration comes from great (or really terrible) B-movies and indie films. They are sometimes aggravating to watch, but they can also be a joy. So if you like sci-fi in your books, you just might like it in your movies. Just a suggestion. Let me know in the comments if that sounds like something you’d be interested in. If not, maybe you have friends who would be interested. Send them on over for Movie Saturday. 😉 Also, please…PLEASE let me know if you have any good suggestions for me to watch. I love movies almost as much as I love books and I’m always open to recommendations.

Thus far, this will be my plan and my schedule. I am making a solemn commitment to stick to this schedule, at least long enough to discover if it works. And of course, twice a month, I will be dropping chapters on Fridays. As long as the energy vampire gnomes don’t get to me first.

Let me know what you have all resolved to do for the new year?

One thought on “Happy New Year’s Day 2017

Leave a Reply

